Below is the 4th episode of the PT Sports Debate podcast. My apologies on the fact that it is only on the Wild Card recap, we had some computer issues and the second half of the podcast(Divisional round predictions) was never recorded. Hope you guys enjoy the first half at least, and we’ll throw in our divisional round predictions as well.


You can subscribe and follow the podcast here:
PT Sports Debate

Divisional Round

Stiltz (3-1 in the playoffs)

Saturday Games:

Saints over Seahawks

I like the upset this week in Seattle. New Orleans is going to be playing with a lot of confidence after going up to Philly and shutting down that high powered offense. I think the Saints D is going to have another great game, partly because Seattle has had offensive line issues this season. Also, because Seattle really doesn’t have a ton of playmakers on offense. The X factor in this game has to be Percy Harvin, if he can play and do anything Harvinlike in this game the Saints would be in a lot of trouble. Drew Brees didn’t have a great game last week, he needs to play a clean game this week in order for the Saints to win. That means that they need to get that running game GOINGGGG!! Mark Ingram, Robinson, Sproles, and Pierre Thomas(If he plays) need to have another strong day on the ground. For as good as Seattle’s D has been this season, teams have been able to run up the middle on them.  Seattle hasn’t been playing their best ball as of late and they have looked vulnerable up there in Seattle, for once in a loooong time. New Orleans is going to get their revenge from that 31-7 drubbing and playoff loss from a 7-9 Seahawks team led by one Matthew Hasselback!

Colts over Pats

What? He is picking another underdog. The quick response is WHY THE HELL NOT?! It is now basketball season in my house due to the Pack being eliminated and I’m riding the Colts train to the Super Bowl. After that improbable comeback last week in Indy, I don’t know how you can bet against the Colts. They are playing their best football at the end of the year, Andrew the Giant is never phased and the Pats are beatable at home. Let’s face it, this is Tom Brady’s worst season statistically in a loong time. Before you say it’s because he doesn’t have insert WR/TE name here, Brady has put up big numbers without the marquee names at wideout for most of his career. Their offense just doesn’t look that great this year, and if Mathis can be a factor in this game the Pats will fall. Colts are a big underdog and I haven’t heard of many people picking the Colts, I just like this team’s resolve. I think Donald Brown and dare I say it, TRICH!, will have a nice game running the ball on a Pats defense that really can’t stop the run. Pep Hamilton sure as hell would love to run the ball the entire game, and dominate that Time of Possession. I think the Colts will go up to Foxboro this weekend, and make a lot of people believers in this team. One last note, be ready to hear a ridiculous amount of coverage on Luck if this does happen.

Sunday Games:

Niners over Panthers

Another road team? The insanity I tell you. I just watched this Niners team, live, go up to Lambeau and play in the coldest conditions I have ever experienced. They are a tough football team who wants to get back to the Super Bowl. I think they are hungrier than this Carolina team, who have little to no playoff experience. Jim Harbaugh is one of the top three coaches in all of football in my opinion, and I really don’t trust Ron Rivera. Cam Newton has not looked good towards the end of the season, almost like his play in the beginning of the year. Their offense is also lacking a lot of playmakers, the 49ers aren’t going to be worried about too many other guys besides #1. This is going to be a defensive struggle, but I think the Niners will have the better game plan. The X factor will be Michael Crabtree, who wasn’t in this last meeting when the Panthers won in a barn burner 10-9. Crabtree and Kap just have a nice chemistry and makes their offense watchable. Just having Crab out there will open up other wideouts and Vernon Davis. In this scenario, the Niners would then go on to host the NFC Championship against the Saints in what would be the last ever game played at Candlestick park. It would also be a rematch of a 2012 playoff classic!

Before I type it, would you be surprised at this point if I picked another ROOOAAADD DAWWWWGGGG. Warriors come out to play!!!

Chargers over Broncos

I don’t even know why the Broncos play for home field advantage when their style is clearly better suited in warm/dome weather. If you look at all of the games from last weekend, the only high scoring affair was the Colts/Chiefs which occurred indoors. People were saying the Saints/Eagles game was going to produce over 1,000 yards of offense and a ton of points….well it didn’t. This is playoff football, and it is freaking cold outside last time I checked. If it’s cold for a 29 year old who has zero surgeries, I wonder how cold and bothered #18 will be out there after being in the league for over 15 years and having multiple surgeries. I don’t like Peyton in this game, last year his numbers were pedestrian at best. He threw a couple of picks, the Broncos had two Special Teams touchdowns, and he couldn’t seal the game for the team. Granted, they still should have won against the Ravens this Broncos defense is a lot worse than last year’s team. The Chargers have a good offense, and that running game just owned the number 3 Defense in the league in Cincy. You think they are worried about one of the worst run defenses in the league stopping their three headed backfield of Matthews, Brown and Woodhead. I think Mccoy will rely heavily on the run game, and Philip Rivers will put up better number than Peyton. The Chargers winning would wrap up another wild weekend in the NFL, with all four road teams winning. Hey people, the only home team that one last week was the Colts and we all know how that game played out.

Super Bowl prediction right now:

NINERS over Colts

In my scenario, I think the Niners and Colts would advance on to the Super Bowl to battle in out in Jersey. I love the Niners in this matchup in a duel between Andrewson and his Mr. Miyagi(Harbaugh). I really think the Niners are the hottest team in football, one of the best coached teams and most importantly one of the deepest teams in the league. Aldon Smith is back playing like himself, they have all those studs at LB, healthy at the right time and ready to get that 6th Lombardi.

USH (3-1 in the playoffs)

Seahawks over Saints

With the potential of HEAVY rains in Seattle Saturday, I’m taking the home team. The weather will affect Drew Brees, and although the running game for the Saints has been much improved the last few weeks, I think that the Seattle defense will be able to contain it without the threat that the NO passing game brings in a good weather game. I also think that the Eagles laid the blueprint for containing Jimmy Graham which is to be physical with him early and often. They hit him every chance they could, and it affected him to the tune of only 3 catches for 44 yards. I think that the Seahawks follow the same mold, and lean on beast mode and Russell Wilson’s legs to bring BIG BALLS PETE a chance to host the NFC Championship game.

Pats over Colts

I know we have been pumping up Lord Andrew over and over, and there is no doubt that he can go to Foxboro and get the W. At the end of the day however, I think Aqib Talib matches up on TY Hilton, and Belicheck decides to make the Indy running game beat them. Will I be shocked if Luck gets it done? Not at all, I just don’t think his team is quite good enough to go into New England and beat the Pats. This Pats team is not the Chiefs, and if the Colts start slow like they did last week, the home crowd and multitude of Chiefs errors will not be there to bail them out this week.

Niners over Panthers

Hopefully this game isn’t the snooze fest that the game a couple of weeks ago was. Both defenses are sick, and specifically the linebacking play in this game will be something to see. I see Cam and Kaep as similar QBs in their ability to take over games, I think that Kaep’s weapons are worlds better than Cam’s though. Now that Crabtree is back and Boldin can go back to being the complimentary zone killer that he has made his career on, the 49ers offense is picking up steam. I don’t see Cam’s supporting cast providing enough help to make that the case.

Broncos over Chargers

This one hurts me to say, and I have never hoped to be more wrong on a pick, but I don’t think my Bolts get it done in Denver for the second time in a month. The Bolts won their previous trip here by controlling the ball with a punishing ground game, and keeping the ball out of Peyton’s hands. This is clearly the ticket if they are going to try and pull off the upset again, but I think that Denver will make adjustments based on that previous matchup. For that reason, I think that if the Charger’s are able to pass to set up the run, and get pressure on Peyton early to get his footwork off, they can get it done. I just don’t think it happens. If the Bolts win, I will pick them the rest of the way, hopefully to the tune of my 40-1 Vegas odds I played when the playoffs started.

ATS Picks 15-4-2 last 4 weeks

Colts +8

Chargers +10

Leave a Reply

